(no subject)
Jul. 26th, 2013 08:57 pmWatched Pacific Rim.
- Really good just as a daikaiju film.
- I really liked the graphics in the heroine's story. The rain of ashes over all the devastation with the single young girl seemed very Japanese to me.
- Okay, so I was probably going to root for Russians anyway, but I think it's awesome that the Russians were the guys who managed to keep fighting in this old chunky piece of outdated tech.
- I felt like some of the story just wound up being too predictably Save the Cat.
- I loved the Wayne Barlowe design elements to the kaiju!
- The whole subplot with the wall just seemed forced and kind of lame. They're not building some Maginot line like thing, they're just making a really tall (not thick) defensive wall? I'd expect something else from politicians worried about public opinion and a potentially lucrative source of defense contracts.
- I sort of wish there'd been more Jäger crews alive towards the end of the movie - having only four mechs and pilots around actually stretched credibility for me by being too much last, best hope.
- I feel like that last bit of movie is basically a suicide mission, and having the hero survive despite those odds, save the world and get the girl seemed a little too pat somehow. 'Course if I'd been behind The Avengers Tony wouldn't have survived the bomb, so what do I know?
- The part that really surprised me and which I love love love loved was that halfway through the movie it suddenly becomes Shadowrun. That was too awesome for words.
- Okay, I am biased by the way I have been thinking about childhood a lot, and I'm really resentful of my father's attitude towards biology, but it was awesome to see the biologist be basically on the right track, and the mathematics genius has to shut up.